Reference data standard on Canadian provinces and territories (draft)

You're currently viewing an old version of this dataset. Some resources may no longer exist or the dataset may not display correctly. To see the current version, click here.

This draft reference data provides a standard list of values for all Canadian provinces and territories. The list reflects Canada’s 13 major political units; it is not based on geographical borders. This list is intended to standardize the way Canadian provinces and territories are described in datasets in order to enable data interoperability and improve data quality.

As the standard is draft, adoption of the values under the "Code" column is recommended when sharing data within the federal government or publishing data to the Open Government Portal.

Data Standard Stewards

Statistics Canada Statistical Geomatics Centre, Analytical Studies, Methodology and Statistical Infrastructure Field

Natural Resources Canada Geographical Names Board of Canada Secretariat

Data Standard Custodian

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Office of the Chief Information Officer, Data and Artificial intelligence policy team

  • Publisher - Current Organization Name: Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
  • Publisher - Organization Section Name: Office of the Chief Information Officer
  • Contributor: Reference Data Management Working Group of the GC Enterprise Data Community of Practice
  • Licence: Open Government Licence - Canada

Data and Resources

Geographic Information

Geographic Region Name:

Similar records