The Turkey Lakes Watershed Study

The Turkey Lakes Watershed Study The Turkey Lakes Watershed (TLW) Study was initiated in 1980 by Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada to evaluate anthropogenic perturbation of Canadian Shield ecosystems. Originally, the Study focused on the aquatic and terrestrial effects of acid rain, but now it includes research into the effects of other anthropogenic pollutants (e.g. toxic contaminants) and ecological perturbations (e.g. forest harvesting, climate change and fish habitat modification). Supplemental Information Intensive monitoring of meteorology, atmospheric deposition, hydrology and water chemistry within the TLW has permitted determination of water, ion, and nutrient budgets for both its terrestrial and aquatic components. The data permit detection of ecosystem trends and inference of cause. The health and status of both the terrestrial and aquatic biological communities (species distributions, production, standing stocks, etc.) have been determined also. Specific hydrological research questions such as the definition of water pathways during snowmelt have been considered. Hydrological, chemical and biological models have been developed and validated using TLW data and these have been used to simulate watershed responses at other locations. The basin has also acted as a base for related regional studies (e.g. water chemistry surveys, water bird population and distribution studies), and research is now branching to include evaluation of the effects of other airborne pollutants (e.g. metals and toxic organic contaminants), other system-level perturbations (e.g. UV-b and climate change), and specific landscape manipulations (e.g. forest harvesting and aquatic habitat alteration). For more information visit: https://www.canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/services/turkey-lakes-watershed-study.html The Climate Change and Air Pollution (CCAP) program was established in 2016 to identify the severity and extent of adverse impacts of current and future air emissions on aquatic ecosystems to support regulatory actions and policy development. The program includes a number of components, including identifying, monitoring and defining air quality and greenhouse gas (GHG) concerns; improving our understanding of the short- and long-term effects of atmospheric pollutants on the environment; developing a plan to combat climate change; and monitoring and reducing both domestic and transboundary emissions of GHGs. The program is also responsible for identifying and studying emerging issues including multipollutant impacts, major urban sources, and effects of increasing heat on air pollutant formation, among others. On-going cooperation and support with the Provinces and Territories, international governments and organizations and academia are vital to deliver these priorities to Canadians. 2022-02-23 Environment and Climate Change Canada open-ouvert@tbs-sct.gc.ca Nature and EnvironmentTurkey Lakes Watershed StudyTLWLakesstreamsmajor ionsnutrientsmetalstemperaturedissolved oxygenacid rainemissionswater qualitylong term monitoringwatershedinland waterslong range transport of air pollutionCCAPclimate change and air pollutionAcid rainWatershedsWater quality Physical, Chemical, and Biological Characteristics of the Turkey Lakes Watershed, Central Ontario, Canada [English]HTML https://www.nrcresearchpress.com/doi/abs/10.1139/f88-262#.WqASyCVG1aQ Turkey Lakes Watershed study [Français]HTML https://www.canada.ca/fr/environnement-changement-climatique/services/etude-bassin-lacs-turkey.html Turkey Lakes Watershed study [English]HTML https://www.canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/services/turkey-lakes-watershed-study.html Physical, Chemical, and Biological Characteristics of the Turkey Lakes Watershed, Central Ontario, Canada [Français]HTML https://www.nrcresearchpress.com/doi/abs/10.1139/f88-262 View ECCC Data Mart (English)HTML https://data-donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/the-turkey-lakes-watershed-study/ View ECCC Data Mart (French)HTML https://data-donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/the-turkey-lakes-watershed-study/?lang=fr

The Turkey Lakes Watershed (TLW) Study was initiated in 1980 by Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada to evaluate anthropogenic perturbation of Canadian Shield ecosystems. Originally, the Study focused on the aquatic and terrestrial effects of acid rain, but now it includes research into the effects of other anthropogenic pollutants (e.g. toxic contaminants) and ecological perturbations (e.g. forest harvesting, climate change and fish habitat modification).

Supplemental Information

Intensive monitoring of meteorology, atmospheric deposition, hydrology and water chemistry within the TLW has permitted determination of water, ion, and nutrient budgets for both its terrestrial and aquatic components. The data permit detection of ecosystem trends and inference of cause. The health and status of both the terrestrial and aquatic biological communities (species distributions, production, standing stocks, etc.) have been determined also. Specific hydrological research questions such as the definition of water pathways during snowmelt have been considered. Hydrological, chemical and biological models have been developed and validated using TLW data and these have been used to simulate watershed responses at other locations. The basin has also acted as a base for related regional studies (e.g. water chemistry surveys, water bird population and distribution studies), and research is now branching to include evaluation of the effects of other airborne pollutants (e.g. metals and toxic organic contaminants), other system-level perturbations (e.g. UV-b and climate change), and specific landscape manipulations (e.g. forest harvesting and aquatic habitat alteration).

For more information visit: https://www.canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/services/turkey-lakes-watershed-study.html

The Climate Change and Air Pollution (CCAP) program was established in 2016 to identify the severity and extent of adverse impacts of current and future air emissions on aquatic ecosystems to support regulatory actions and policy development. The program includes a number of components, including identifying, monitoring and defining air quality and greenhouse gas (GHG) concerns; improving our understanding of the short- and long-term effects of atmospheric pollutants on the environment; developing a plan to combat climate change; and monitoring and reducing both domestic and transboundary emissions of GHGs. The program is also responsible for identifying and studying emerging issues including multipollutant impacts, major urban sources, and effects of increasing heat on air pollutant formation, among others.

On-going cooperation and support with the Provinces and Territories, international governments and organizations and academia are vital to deliver these priorities to Canadians.

Data and Resources

Geographic Information

Spatial Feature

Geographic Region Name:

Ontario
Similar records

L'Étude du bassin des lacs Turkey

L'Étude du bassin des lacs Turkey L'Étude du bassin des lacs Turkey (BLT) a été lancée en 1980 par Environnement Canada, Ressources Naturelles Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada pour évaluer les perturbations anthropiques subies par les écosystèmes du Bouclier canadien. Initialement, l'Étude mettait l'accent sur les effets aquatiques et terrestres des pluies acides, or, maintenant, elle comprend également des recherches sur les effets d'autres polluants anthropiques (p. ex. les contaminants toxiques) et perturbations écologiques (p. ex. l'exploitation forestière, le changement climatique et la modification de l'habitat du poisson). Renseignements supplémentaires La surveillance intensive des conditions météorologiques, des dépôts atmosphériques, de l'hydrologie et de la chimie de l'eau dans le BLT permet d'établir les bilans hydrique, ionique et nutritif de ses éléments aquatiques et terrestres. Les données permettent de dégager les tendances des écosystèmes et d'en déterminer les causes. La santé et l'état des communautés biologiques terrestres et aquatiques (distribution, production, stocks actuels, etc. des espèces) peuvent également être déterminés. Des questions hydrologiques précises, par exemple la définition des voies d'écoulement pendant la fonte des neiges, sont considérées dans le cadre de cette étude. Au moyen des données recueillies dans le BLT, des modèles hydrologiques, chimiques et biologiques sont mis au point et validés, puis utilisés pour simuler les réactions à l'échelle d'autres bassins. Le bassin sert également de base pour les études régionales connexes (p. ex. les relevés de chimie de l'eau, les études sur les populations d'oiseaux aquatiques et leur distribution). La recherche inclut maintenant l'évaluation des effets d'autres polluants atmosphériques (p. ex. les métaux et les contaminants organiques toxiques), d'autres perturbations au niveau des systèmes (p. ex. les rayons UV-B et le changement climatique) et certaines altérations du paysage (p. ex. l'exploitation forestière et la modification de l'habitat aquatique). Pour plus d'informations, visitez: https://www.canada.ca/fr/environnement-changement-climatique/services/etude-bassin-lacs-turkey.html Le programme Changements climatiques et pollution de l'air (CCPA) a été établi en 2016 pour déterminer la gravité et l'étendue des effets néfastes des émissions atmosphériques actuelles et futures sur les écosystèmes aquatiques afin d'appuyer les mesures réglementaires et l'élaboration de politiques. Le programme comprend un certain nombre d'éléments, notamment l'identification, la surveillance et la définition des préoccupations relatives à la qualité de l'air et aux gaz à effet de serre (GES) ; améliorer notre compréhension des effets à court et à long terme des polluants atmosphériques sur l'environnement; élaborer un plan de lutte contre le changement climatique; et surveiller et réduire les émissions nationales et transfrontières de GES. Le programme est également chargé d'identifier et d'étudier les problèmes émergents, y compris les impacts multi-pollutants, les principales sources urbaines et les effets de l'augmentation de la chaleur sur la formation des polluants atmosphériques, entre autres. Soutien continu et coopération des provinces et des territoires, des gouvernements internationaux et des organisations, et du milieu universitaire sont essentiels pour offrir ces priorités aux Canadiens. 2022-02-23 Environnement et Changement climatique Canada open-ouvert@tbs-sct.gc.ca Nature et environnementÉtude du bassin des lacs TurkeyBLTlacsruisseauxions majeursnutrimentsmétauxtempératureoxygènepluie acideémissions atmosphériquesqualité de l'eausurveillance à long termebassin hydrologiqueeaux intérieuresTransport à longue distance de la pollution de l'airCCAPProgramme Changements climatiques et pollution atmosphériquePluies acidesBassin hydrologiqueQualité de l'eau Journal scientifiqe «Physical, Chemical, and Biological Characteristics of the Turkey Lakes Watershed, Central Ontario, Canada» [English]HTML https://www.nrcresearchpress.com/doi/abs/10.1139/f88-262#.WqASyCVG1aQ Étude du bassin des lacs Turkey [Français]HTML https://www.canada.ca/fr/environnement-changement-climatique/services/etude-bassin-lacs-turkey.html Étude du bassin des lacs Turkey [English]HTML https://www.canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/services/turkey-lakes-watershed-study.html Journal scientifiqe «Physical, Chemical, and Biological Characteristics of the Turkey Lakes Watershed, Central Ontario, Canada» [Fraçais]HTML https://www.nrcresearchpress.com/doi/abs/10.1139/f88-262 Voir le Dépôt de données d'ECCC (Anglais)HTML https://data-donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/the-turkey-lakes-watershed-study/ Voir le Dépôt de données d'ECCC (Français)HTML https://data-donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/the-turkey-lakes-watershed-study/?lang=fr

L'Étude du bassin des lacs Turkey (BLT) a été lancée en 1980 par Environnement Canada, Ressources Naturelles Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada pour évaluer les perturbations anthropiques subies par les écosystèmes du Bouclier canadien. Initialement, l'Étude mettait l'accent sur les effets aquatiques et terrestres des pluies acides, or, maintenant, elle comprend également des recherches sur les effets d'autres polluants anthropiques (p. ex. les contaminants toxiques) et perturbations écologiques (p. ex. l'exploitation forestière, le changement climatique et la modification de l'habitat du poisson).

Renseignements supplémentaires

La surveillance intensive des conditions météorologiques, des dépôts atmosphériques, de l'hydrologie et de la chimie de l'eau dans le BLT permet d'établir les bilans hydrique, ionique et nutritif de ses éléments aquatiques et terrestres. Les données permettent de dégager les tendances des écosystèmes et d'en déterminer les causes. La santé et l'état des communautés biologiques terrestres et aquatiques (distribution, production, stocks actuels, etc. des espèces) peuvent également être déterminés. Des questions hydrologiques précises, par exemple la définition des voies d'écoulement pendant la fonte des neiges, sont considérées dans le cadre de cette étude. Au moyen des données recueillies dans le BLT, des modèles hydrologiques, chimiques et biologiques sont mis au point et validés, puis utilisés pour simuler les réactions à l'échelle d'autres bassins. Le bassin sert également de base pour les études régionales connexes (p. ex. les relevés de chimie de l'eau, les études sur les populations d'oiseaux aquatiques et leur distribution). La recherche inclut maintenant l'évaluation des effets d'autres polluants atmosphériques (p. ex. les métaux et les contaminants organiques toxiques), d'autres perturbations au niveau des systèmes (p. ex. les rayons UV-B et le changement climatique) et certaines altérations du paysage (p. ex. l'exploitation forestière et la modification de l'habitat aquatique). Pour plus d'informations, visitez: https://www.canada.ca/fr/environnement-changement-climatique/services/etude-bassin-lacs-turkey.html

Le programme Changements climatiques et pollution de l'air (CCPA) a été établi en 2016 pour déterminer la gravité et l'étendue des effets néfastes des émissions atmosphériques actuelles et futures sur les écosystèmes aquatiques afin d'appuyer les mesures réglementaires et l'élaboration de politiques. Le programme comprend un certain nombre d'éléments, notamment l'identification, la surveillance et la définition des préoccupations relatives à la qualité de l'air et aux gaz à effet de serre (GES) ; améliorer notre compréhension des effets à court et à long terme des polluants atmosphériques sur l'environnement; élaborer un plan de lutte contre le changement climatique; et surveiller et réduire les émissions nationales et transfrontières de GES. Le programme est également chargé d'identifier et d'étudier les problèmes émergents, y compris les impacts multi-pollutants, les principales sources urbaines et les effets de l'augmentation de la chaleur sur la formation des polluants atmosphériques, entre autres.

Soutien continu et coopération des provinces et des territoires, des gouvernements internationaux et des organisations, et du milieu universitaire sont essentiels pour offrir ces priorités aux Canadiens.

Données et ressources

Renseignements géographiques

Élément spatial

Nom de la région géographique:

Ontario
Dossiers similaires