Blue whale sightings in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence

Blue whale sightings in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence Sightings data were collected by the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS) from 1980 to 2008 with annual surveys realised in the Gulf of St. Lawrence between the end of may and early november. Surveys were conducted using inflatable boats enabling the close approaches necessary to photograph and biopsy blue whales. The aim of this project was to provide additional information for designating blue whale critical habitat as required under the Canadian Species at Risk Act. For more details consult the following report: Ramp, C. and Sears, R. 2013. Distribution, densities, and annual occurrence of individual blue whales (Balaenoptera musculus) in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Canada from 1980-2008. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Res. Doc. 2012/157. vii + 37 p. http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas-sccs/Publications/ResDocs-DocRech/2012/2012_157-eng.html Data of blue whale sightings, collected by the MICS, have been analysed per km of effort in 3 x 3 km grid cells in the Gulf of St. Lawrence for the 2000-2008 period. 2019-09-20 Fisheries and Oceans Canada Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca Nature and EnvironmentScience and TechnologyDistributionSightingOccurenceBlue whaleBalaenoptera musculusMarine mammalsSpecie at RiskSt. Lawrence EstuaryGulf of St. LawrenceÎles de MinganGaspésieEarth sciencesMarine biologyAquatic wildlife Data DictionaryCSV https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/DataDictionary_DictionnaireDonnees.csv Blue whales relative sightingsSHP https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings.zip Blue whales relative sightingsESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/MapServer/0 Blue whales relative sightingsESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/MapServer/0

Sightings data were collected by the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS) from 1980 to 2008 with annual surveys realised in the Gulf of St. Lawrence between the end of may and early november. Surveys were conducted using inflatable boats enabling the close approaches necessary to photograph and biopsy blue whales.

The aim of this project was to provide additional information for designating blue whale critical habitat as required under the Canadian Species at Risk Act.

For more details consult the following report:

Ramp, C. and Sears, R. 2013. Distribution, densities, and annual occurrence of individual blue whales (Balaenoptera musculus) in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Canada from 1980-2008. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Res. Doc. 2012/157. vii + 37 p.

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas-sccs/Publications/ResDocs-DocRech/2012/2012_157-eng.html

Data of blue whale sightings, collected by the MICS, have been analysed per km of effort in 3 x 3 km grid cells in the Gulf of St. Lawrence for the 2000-2008 period.

View on Map

Data and Resources

Geographic Information

Spatial Feature

Contact Information

Delivery Point: 850, route de la Mer, P.O. Box 1000

Administrative Area:

Country: Canada

Electronic Mail Address: Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Similar records

Observations de rorqual bleu dans l'estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent

Observations de rorqual bleu dans l'estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent Des données d'observations ont été recueillies par la Station de Recherche des Îles Mingan (SRIM) entre 1980 et 2008 grâce à des études annuelles réalisées dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent entre la fin mai et début novembre. Les relevés sont réalisés à partir de bateaux pneumatiques permettant des approches serrées nécessaires pour la photographie et la biopsie des rorquals bleus. Ce projet avait pour objectif de fournir des renseignements supplémentaires pour la désignation de l'habitat essentiel du rorqual bleu, en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada. Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter le rapport suivant: Ramp, C. and Sears, R. 2013. Distribution, densities, and annual occurrence of individual blue whales (Balaenoptera musculus) in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Canada from 1980-2008. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Res. Doc. 2012/157. vii + 37 p. http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas-sccs/Publications/ResDocs-DocRech/2012/2012_157-fra.html Les données d'observations du rorqual bleu récoltées par la SRIM ont été analysées par km d'effort et rapportées par cellules de 3 x 3 km dans le golfe Saint-Laurent pour la période de 2000-2008. 2019-09-20 Pêches et Océans Canada Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca Nature et environnementSciences et technologiedistributionobservationoccurencerorqual bleuBalaenoptera musculusmammifères marinsespèce en périlEstuaire du Saint-LaurentGolfe du Saint-LaurentÎles de MinganGaspésieSciences de la terreBiologie marineFaune aquatique Dictionnaire de donnéesCSV https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/DataDictionary_DictionnaireDonnees.csv Observations relatives du rorqual bleuSHP https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings.zip Observations relatives du rorqual bleuESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/MapServer/0 Observations relatives du rorqual bleuESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/BlueWhales_RorqualBleu_RelativeSightings/MapServer/0

Des données d'observations ont été recueillies par la Station de Recherche des Îles Mingan (SRIM) entre 1980 et 2008 grâce à des études annuelles réalisées dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent entre la fin mai et début novembre. Les relevés sont réalisés à partir de bateaux pneumatiques permettant des approches serrées nécessaires pour la photographie et la biopsie des rorquals bleus.

Ce projet avait pour objectif de fournir des renseignements supplémentaires pour la désignation de l'habitat essentiel du rorqual bleu, en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada.

Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter le rapport suivant:

Ramp, C. and Sears, R. 2013. Distribution, densities, and annual occurrence of individual blue whales (Balaenoptera musculus) in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Canada from 1980-2008. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Res. Doc. 2012/157. vii + 37 p.

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas-sccs/Publications/ResDocs-DocRech/2012/2012_157-fra.html

Les données d'observations du rorqual bleu récoltées par la SRIM ont été analysées par km d'effort et rapportées par cellules de 3 x 3 km dans le golfe Saint-Laurent pour la période de 2000-2008.

Afficher la carte

Données et ressources

Renseignements géographiques

Élément spatial

Coordonnées

Point de livraison: 850, route de la Mer, C. P. 1000

Ville: Mont-Joli

Zone administrative:

Code postal: G5H 3Z4

Pays: Canada

Adresse de courrier électronique: Oceans-QC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Dossiers similaires