Average Relative Density of Fish Functional Groups and Species in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion, 1981-2017

Average Relative Density of Fish Functional Groups and Species in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion, 1981-2017 The Science Branch of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) in the Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) region has been conducting multispecies research vessel (RV) surveys using a stratified random survey design since the early 1970s. The DFO RV survey dataset represents the longest time series of species data in the NL region, making it ideal for mapping the average relative densities of species over time. Average relative density maps depict the interpolated densities (calculated from kg/tow) of fish species or functional groups. These densities are averaged over each time series (Engel and Campelen) and include data from all available seasons, so they represent persistent areas of relatively high and low densities for that species or functional group for the duration of the time series, independent of season. These maps are well suited as decision support tools related to conservation areas and marine spatial planning. These maps can also inform other processes that require information on areas important to marine fish, such as environmental assessments. Spring, fall, and winter data from the DFO RV survey between 1981 and 2017, inclusive, were used for the analysis. Due to a gear change from an Engel 145 Hi-Lift Otter Trawl to a Campelen 1800 Shrimp Trawl in 1995, the time series is treated as two separate datasets. NAFO Divisions 2J3KLNOP were sampled during the Engel time series and Division 2H was added for the Campelen time series. The data were filtered prior to use so that only core strata (areas consistently sampled across years) were included, resulting in most deep water and inshore sets being excluded in this analysis. Weight per tow (kg/tow; standardized for tow length for each gear type) data for fish, shrimp, and crab species were extracted from the database, and all successful sets from regular multispecies surveys were used for analyses. Eight fish functional groups (groups of species of similar size and diet) were identified based on the RV survey dataset: small benthivores, medium benthivores, large benthivores, piscivores, plank-piscivores, planktivores, shrimp, and forage fish. Data for each functional group were mapped three ways: all species, dominant species (i.e. top 90% biomass), and non-dominant species. In total, 40 dominant species and/or at-risk species (i.e. COSEWIC endangered, threatened, special concern; SARA; DFO/NAFO depleted) were mapped individually. To identify the average relative density, independent of seasonality, the spring, fall, and winter survey sets were compiled into a composite dataset using a log transformation on the biomass (kg/tow). For functional groups, these values were then standardized across each group. Absences (0 kg/tow catch values) were included. A continuous raster with a 4x4km resolution was generated through ordinary kriging. The raster was clipped to an 8-km buffer of the RV survey extent and the zero values were then removed. The results of this process are maps depicting the average relative density of fish functional groups and selected individual species during both the Engel (1981-1995) and Campelen (1995-2017) time series. Note that the original units (e.g. kg/tow) are no longer relevant due to data processing. Cell values are not comparable between groups or species; when mapping, all numeric values should be removed from the labels and legend, with relative qualifiers (“high” and “low”) used instead. More detailed information can be found in Wells et al. (2021). References: Wells, N.J., Pretty, C., Warren, M., Novaczek, E. and Koen-Alonso, M. 2021. Average Relative Density of Fish Species and Functional Groups in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion from 1981-2017. Can. Tech. Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 3427: viii + 76 p. 2022-02-01 Fisheries and Oceans Canada christina.pretty@dfo-mpo.gc.ca Form DescriptorsNature and EnvironmentScience and TechnologyMarine biologyFisheries productsSalt water fishEcology ARD LayersGeoTIF https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/Data.zip Technical ReportPDF https://waves-vagues.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/Library/40958838.pdf Data DictionaryCSV https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/DATA_DICTIONARY_DICTIONNAIRE_DE_DONNEES.csv Average Relative Density of Fish Functional Groups and Species in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion, 1981-2017ESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/MapServer Average Relative Density of Fish Functional Groups and Species in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion, 1981-2017ESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/MapServer

The Science Branch of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) in the Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) region has been conducting multispecies research vessel (RV) surveys using a stratified random survey design since the early 1970s. The DFO RV survey dataset represents the longest time series of species data in the NL region, making it ideal for mapping the average relative densities of species over time. Average relative density maps depict the interpolated densities (calculated from kg/tow) of fish species or functional groups. These densities are averaged over each time series (Engel and Campelen) and include data from all available seasons, so they represent persistent areas of relatively high and low densities for that species or functional group for the duration of the time series, independent of season. These maps are well suited as decision support tools related to conservation areas and marine spatial planning. These maps can also inform other processes that require information on areas important to marine fish, such as environmental assessments.

Spring, fall, and winter data from the DFO RV survey between 1981 and 2017, inclusive, were used for the analysis. Due to a gear change from an Engel 145 Hi-Lift Otter Trawl to a Campelen 1800 Shrimp Trawl in 1995, the time series is treated as two separate datasets. NAFO Divisions 2J3KLNOP were sampled during the Engel time series and Division 2H was added for the Campelen time series. The data were filtered prior to use so that only core strata (areas consistently sampled across years) were included, resulting in most deep water and inshore sets being excluded in this analysis. Weight per tow (kg/tow; standardized for tow length for each gear type) data for fish, shrimp, and crab species were extracted from the database, and all successful sets from regular multispecies surveys were used for analyses.

Eight fish functional groups (groups of species of similar size and diet) were identified based on the RV survey dataset: small benthivores, medium benthivores, large benthivores, piscivores, plank-piscivores, planktivores, shrimp, and forage fish. Data for each functional group were mapped three ways: all species, dominant species (i.e. top 90% biomass), and non-dominant species. In total, 40 dominant species and/or at-risk species (i.e. COSEWIC endangered, threatened, special concern; SARA; DFO/NAFO depleted) were mapped individually. To identify the average relative density, independent of seasonality, the spring, fall, and winter survey sets were compiled into a composite dataset using a log transformation on the biomass (kg/tow). For functional groups, these values were then standardized across each group. Absences (0 kg/tow catch values) were included. A continuous raster with a 4x4km resolution was generated through ordinary kriging. The raster was clipped to an 8-km buffer of the RV survey extent and the zero values were then removed.

The results of this process are maps depicting the average relative density of fish functional groups and selected individual species during both the Engel (1981-1995) and Campelen (1995-2017) time series. Note that the original units (e.g. kg/tow) are no longer relevant due to data processing. Cell values are not comparable between groups or species; when mapping, all numeric values should be removed from the labels and legend, with relative qualifiers (“high” and “low”) used instead.

More detailed information can be found in Wells et al. (2021).

References:

Wells, N.J., Pretty, C., Warren, M., Novaczek, E. and Koen-Alonso, M. 2021. Average Relative Density of Fish Species and Functional Groups in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion from 1981-2017. Can. Tech. Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 3427: viii + 76 p.

View on Map

Data and Resources

Geographic Information

Spatial Feature

Contact Information

Delivery Point: Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, 80 East White Hills Road

City: St. John's

Administrative Area: Newfoundland and Labrador

Postal Code: A1C 5X1

Country:

Electronic Mail Address: nadine.wells@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Similar records

Densité relative moyenne de groupes fonctionnels et d’espèces de poissons dans la biorégion des plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, 1981-2017

Densité relative moyenne de groupes fonctionnels et d’espèces de poissons dans la biorégion des plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, 1981-2017 La Direction générale des sciences de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) dans la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador réalise des relevés plurispécifiques par navire de recherche selon un plan d’échantillonnage aléatoire stratifié depuis le début des années 1970. L’ensemble de données tirées des relevés par navire de recherche du MPO représente la plus longue série chronologique de données sur les espèces de la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ce qui en fait la source idéale pour la cartographie de la densité relative moyenne des espèces au fil du temps. Les cartes de densités relatives moyennes illustrent les densités interpolées (calculées en fonction du nombre de kg/trait) d’espèces de poissons ou de groupes fonctionnels. Ces densités correspondent à la moyenne de chaque série chronologique (chaluts Engel et Campelen) et sont fondées sur des données provenant de toutes les saisons disponibles; elles représentent donc des zones où la densité d’une espèce ou d’un groupe fonctionnel donné est relativement haute ou faible de façon persistante pour la durée de la série chronologique, indépendamment de la saison. Les cartes constituent de bons outils d’aide à la décision concernant l’établissement d’aires de conservation et la planification spatiale marine. Elles peuvent également servir à orienter d’autres processus qui requièrent de l’information sur des zones importantes pour les poissons marins, comme les évaluations environnementales. L’analyse est basée sur les données des relevés printaniers, automnaux et hivernaux par navire de recherche du MPO de la période de 1981 à 2017 inclusivement. En raison d’un changement d’engin en 1995, année où l’on est passé du chalut à panneaux Engel 145 Hi-Lift au chalut à crevettes Campelen 1800, cette période a été divisée en deux séries chronologiques faisant chacune l’objet d’un ensemble de données distinct. Les divisions 2J3KLNOP de l’OPANO ont été échantillonnées au moyen du chalut Engel (série chronologique Engel), et la division 2H a été ajoutée aux échantillonnages menés avec le chalut Campelen (série chronologique Campelen). Les données ont été filtrées avant d’être utilisées pour que seules les strates centrales (zones régulièrement échantillonnées année après année) soient incluses, ce qui a pour résultat d’exclure de l’analyse les séries de traits en eaux profondes et en eaux côtières. Le poids par trait (kg/trait; normalisé en fonction de la longueur du trait de chaque type d’engin) d’espèces de poissons, de crevettes et de crabes a été extrait de la base de données, et toutes les séries de traits fructueuses des relevés plurispécifiques réguliers ont été utilisées dans l’analyse. Huit groupes fonctionnels (groupes d’espèces à la taille et au régime alimentaire semblables) ont été identifiés d’après les ensembles de données des relevés par navires de recherche : les benthivores de petite taille, les benthivores de taille moyenne, les benthivores de grande taille, les piscivores, les plancto piscivores, les planctonivores, les crevettes, et les poissons-proies. Les données sur chaque groupe fonctionnel ont été cartographiées de trois façons : toutes les espèces, les espèces dominantes (c.-à-d. qui représentent 90 % de la biomasse) et les espèces non dominantes. En tout, 40 espèces dominantes et/ou en péril (en voie de disparition, menacées ou préoccupantes selon le COSEPAC; inscrites à la LEP; épuisées selon le MPO et l’OPANO) ont été cartographiées individuellement. Pour établir la densité relative moyenne, indépendamment de la saison, les séries de relevés printaniers, automnaux et hivernaux ont été compilées en un ensemble de données composites au moyen d’une transformation logarithmique de la biomasse (kg/trait). Dans le cas des groupes fonctionnels, ces valeurs ont été normalisées à l’échelle de chacun des groupes. Les absences (valeurs de 0 kg/trait) ont été incluses. Une surface matricielle continue d’une résolution de 4 × 4 km a été générée par krigeage ordinaire. La matrice a été attachée à une zone tampon de 8 km de la zone de relevé par navire de recherche, puis les valeurs nulles ont été enlevées. Les résultats du processus sont des cartes illustrant la densité relative moyenne des groupes fonctionnels de poissons et d’espèces individuelles durant les séries chronologiques établies grâce à des relevés par chalut Engel (1981-1995) et par chalut Campelen (1995-2017). Il est à noter que les unités originales (kg/trait) ne sont plus pertinentes compte tenu du traitement des données. Les valeurs des cellules ne sont pas comparables d’un groupe à l’autre ou d’une espèce à l’autre; ainsi, au moment de cartographier, il faut retirer les valeurs numériques des étiquettes et de la légende, et utiliser plutôt des qualificatifs relatifs (« élevé » et « faible »). Plus de détails se trouvent dans Wells et al. (2021). Références Wells, N.J., Pretty, C., Warren, M., Novaczek, E. and Koen-Alonso, M. 2021. Average Relative Density of Fish Species and Functional Groups in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion from 1981-2017. Can. Tech. Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 3427: viii + 76 p. 2022-02-01 Pêches et Océans Canada christina.pretty@dfo-mpo.gc.ca FormatNature et environnementSciences et technologieBiologie marineProduit de la pêchePoisson de merÉcologie Couche MDRGeoTIF https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/Data.zip Rapport techniquePDF https://waves-vagues.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/Library/40958838.pdf Dictionnaire de donnéesCSV https://pacgis01.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/FGPPublic/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/DATA_DICTIONARY_DICTIONNAIRE_DE_DONNEES.csv Densité relative moyenne de groupes fonctionnels et d’espèces de poissons dans la biorégion des plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, 1981-2017ESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/MapServer Densité relative moyenne de groupes fonctionnels et d’espèces de poissons dans la biorégion des plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, 1981-2017ESRI REST https://gisp.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/FGP/ARD_Fish_Functional_Groups_Species_Newfoundland_Labrador_1981_2017/MapServer

La Direction générale des sciences de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) dans la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador réalise des relevés plurispécifiques par navire de recherche selon un plan d’échantillonnage aléatoire stratifié depuis le début des années 1970. L’ensemble de données tirées des relevés par navire de recherche du MPO représente la plus longue série chronologique de données sur les espèces de la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ce qui en fait la source idéale pour la cartographie de la densité relative moyenne des espèces au fil du temps. Les cartes de densités relatives moyennes illustrent les densités interpolées (calculées en fonction du nombre de kg/trait) d’espèces de poissons ou de groupes fonctionnels. Ces densités correspondent à la moyenne de chaque série chronologique (chaluts Engel et Campelen) et sont fondées sur des données provenant de toutes les saisons disponibles; elles représentent donc des zones où la densité d’une espèce ou d’un groupe fonctionnel donné est relativement haute ou faible de façon persistante pour la durée de la série chronologique, indépendamment de la saison. Les cartes constituent de bons outils d’aide à la décision concernant l’établissement d’aires de conservation et la planification spatiale marine. Elles peuvent également servir à orienter d’autres processus qui requièrent de l’information sur des zones importantes pour les poissons marins, comme les évaluations environnementales.

L’analyse est basée sur les données des relevés printaniers, automnaux et hivernaux par navire de recherche du MPO de la période de 1981 à 2017 inclusivement. En raison d’un changement d’engin en 1995, année où l’on est passé du chalut à panneaux Engel 145 Hi-Lift au chalut à crevettes Campelen 1800, cette période a été divisée en deux séries chronologiques faisant chacune l’objet d’un ensemble de données distinct. Les divisions 2J3KLNOP de l’OPANO ont été échantillonnées au moyen du chalut Engel (série chronologique Engel), et la division 2H a été ajoutée aux échantillonnages menés avec le chalut Campelen (série chronologique Campelen). Les données ont été filtrées avant d’être utilisées pour que seules les strates centrales (zones régulièrement échantillonnées année après année) soient incluses, ce qui a pour résultat d’exclure de l’analyse les séries de traits en eaux profondes et en eaux côtières. Le poids par trait (kg/trait; normalisé en fonction de la longueur du trait de chaque type d’engin) d’espèces de poissons, de crevettes et de crabes a été extrait de la base de données, et toutes les séries de traits fructueuses des relevés plurispécifiques réguliers ont été utilisées dans l’analyse.

Huit groupes fonctionnels (groupes d’espèces à la taille et au régime alimentaire semblables) ont été identifiés d’après les ensembles de données des relevés par navires de recherche : les benthivores de petite taille, les benthivores de taille moyenne, les benthivores de grande taille, les piscivores, les plancto piscivores, les planctonivores, les crevettes, et les poissons-proies. Les données sur chaque groupe fonctionnel ont été cartographiées de trois façons : toutes les espèces, les espèces dominantes (c.-à-d. qui représentent 90 % de la biomasse) et les espèces non dominantes. En tout, 40 espèces dominantes et/ou en péril (en voie de disparition, menacées ou préoccupantes selon le COSEPAC; inscrites à la LEP; épuisées selon le MPO et l’OPANO) ont été cartographiées individuellement. Pour établir la densité relative moyenne, indépendamment de la saison, les séries de relevés printaniers, automnaux et hivernaux ont été compilées en un ensemble de données composites au moyen d’une transformation logarithmique de la biomasse (kg/trait). Dans le cas des groupes fonctionnels, ces valeurs ont été normalisées à l’échelle de chacun des groupes. Les absences (valeurs de 0 kg/trait) ont été incluses. Une surface matricielle continue d’une résolution de 4 × 4 km a été générée par krigeage ordinaire. La matrice a été attachée à une zone tampon de 8 km de la zone de relevé par navire de recherche, puis les valeurs nulles ont été enlevées.

Les résultats du processus sont des cartes illustrant la densité relative moyenne des groupes fonctionnels de poissons et d’espèces individuelles durant les séries chronologiques établies grâce à des relevés par chalut Engel (1981-1995) et par chalut Campelen (1995-2017). Il est à noter que les unités originales (kg/trait) ne sont plus pertinentes compte tenu du traitement des données. Les valeurs des cellules ne sont pas comparables d’un groupe à l’autre ou d’une espèce à l’autre; ainsi, au moment de cartographier, il faut retirer les valeurs numériques des étiquettes et de la légende, et utiliser plutôt des qualificatifs relatifs (« élevé » et « faible »).

Plus de détails se trouvent dans Wells et al. (2021).

Références

Wells, N.J., Pretty, C., Warren, M., Novaczek, E. and Koen-Alonso, M. 2021. Average Relative Density of Fish Species and Functional Groups in the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves Bioregion from 1981-2017. Can. Tech. Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 3427: viii + 76 p.

Afficher la carte

Données et ressources

Renseignements géographiques

Élément spatial

Coordonnées

Adresse de courrier électronique: nadine.wells@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Dossiers similaires