Language selection

Search

Corrected representation of the NDVI using historical MODIS satellite images (250 m resolution) from 2000 to 2019 The Crop Condition Assessment Program (CCAP) is developed and maintained by the Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Section (RSGA) within the Agriculture Division. The CCAP combines remote sensing, GIS, and the Internet to provide reliable, objective, and timely information on crop and pasture/rangeland conditions using a mapping application for the whole Canadian agricultural area and the northern portion of the United States. Since the 2010 growing season, the CCAP has been enhanced with the integration of MODerate-resolution Imaging Spectoradiometer (MODIS) data (250-meter resolution). This detector captures two spectral bands (red and infrared) that have proven to be extremely useful for vegetation monitoring to produce the Normalized Difference Vegetation Index (NDVI). The original NDVI image composites on crop conditions are produced by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (link to original data in the resources section) and additional computations, like a process to remove residual clouds and statistical computations by geographic regions were applied by Statistics Canada. CCAP allowed the visualization of MODIS data since 2017 for most of the growing weeks in Canada, between Julian weeks 15 and 37. This dataset give access to 19 years of MODIS images in GeoTIF format and cover all the crops area during the crops growing season. 2019-02-01 2020-02-13 Statistics Canada STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca AgricultureAgricultureSatellite imagesMODISNDVIgrowing seasonResolutionCCAPSatellitesPlantsAgriculture statisticsAgricultural assistance Satellite image data processing at Statistics Canada for the Crop Condition Assessment Program (CCAP)HTML http://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb-bmdi/pub/document/5177_D1_T9_V1-eng.htm Crop Condition Assessment Program (CCAP) Web ApplicationHTML https://www35.statcan.gc.ca/CCAP/en/index Equivalence between the images bands and the Julian weeksXLS http://ftp.cartes.canada.ca/pub/statcan_statcan/modis/Bands_Weeks_MODIS_Semaines_Bandes.xlsx Compressed Files Per Year (download directory)ZIP http://ftp.cartes.canada.ca/pub/statcan_statcan/modis/ AAFC - Weekly Best-Quality Maximum NDVI AnomaliesHTML https://open.canada.ca/data/en/dataset/ea6b4be2-9826-47f3-a387-33ddf02592f4?platform=hootsuite

Corrected representation of the NDVI using historical MODIS satellite images (250 m resolution) from 2000 to 2019

The Crop Condition Assessment Program (CCAP) is developed and maintained by the Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Section (RSGA) within the Agriculture Division. The CCAP combines remote sensing, GIS, and the Internet to provide reliable, objective, and timely information on crop and pasture/rangeland conditions using a mapping application for the whole Canadian agricultural area and the northern portion of the United States.

Since the 2010 growing season, the CCAP has been enhanced with the integration of MODerate-resolution Imaging Spectoradiometer (MODIS) data (250-meter resolution). This detector captures two spectral bands (red and infrared) that have proven to be extremely useful for vegetation monitoring to produce the Normalized Difference Vegetation Index (NDVI). The original NDVI image composites on crop conditions are produced by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (link to original data in the resources section) and additional computations, like a process to remove residual clouds and statistical computations by geographic regions were applied by Statistics Canada. CCAP allowed the visualization of MODIS data since 2017 for most of the growing weeks in Canada, between Julian weeks 15 and 37.

This dataset give access to 19 years of MODIS images in GeoTIF format and cover all the crops area during the crops growing season.

Resources

Resource Name Resource Type Format Language Links
Satellite image data processing at Statistics Canada for the Crop Condition Assessment Program (CCAP) Guide HTML English
French
Access
Crop Condition Assessment Program (CCAP) Web Application Application HTML English
French
Access
Equivalence between the images bands and the Julian weeks Guide XLS English
French
Access
Compressed Files Per Year (download directory) Dataset ZIP No linguistic content; Not applicable Access
AAFC - Weekly Best-Quality Maximum NDVI Anomalies Dataset HTML English
French
Access

Geographic Information

Spatial Feature

Contact Information

Delivery Point: 150 Tunney's Pasture Driveways

Administrative Area: Ontario

Country: Canada (le)

Electronic Mail Address: STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca

Représentation corrigée de l'IVDN à partir des images satellitaires MODIS (résolution de 250 m) historiques de 2000 à 2021

Représentation corrigée de l'IVDN à partir des images satellitaires MODIS (résolution de 250 m) historiques de 2000 à 2021 Le Programme d'évaluation de l'état des cultures (PEEC) est conçu et tenu à jour par la Section Télédétection et analyse géospatiale (TAG) de la Division de l'agriculture. Le PEEC regroupe les technologies de télédétection, des SIG et Internet dans le but d'offrir des renseignements fiables, objectifs et à jour sur l'état des cultures et des pâturages sous forme d'une application cartographique sur tout le territoire agricole canadien et le nord des États-Unis. Depuis la saison de croissance de 2010, le PEEC a été amélioré par l'intégration des données du capteur "Spectroradiomètre imageur à résolution moyenne" (MODIS, à 250 mètres de résolution). Ce capteur saisit deux importantes bandes spectrales (le rouge et l'infrarouge) servant à l'observation de la végétation pour produire l'Indice de végétation par différence normalisée (IVDN). Les images composites originales de l’IVDN sur la condition des cultures sont fournies par Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (lien vers les données originales dans la section ressource) et des traitements supplémentaires, tels qu’un traitement pour retirer un maximum de nuages résiduels et une compilation statistique par régions géographiques, ont été appliqués par Statistique Canada. Le PEEC permet la visualisation des données MODIS depuis 2017 pour la plupart des semaines de croissance au Canada, soit entre les semaines juliennes 15 à 37. Ce jeu de données donne accès à 21 années d’images MODIS en format GeoTIF et couvre le territoire agricole lors de la saison de croissance des grandes cultures. 2021-12-31 Statistique Canada STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca AgricultureAgricultureImages satellitesMODISIVDNSaison de croissanceRésolutionPEECAide à l'agricultureImagerie satellitePlanteStatistiques de l'agriculture Traitement des images satellites à Statistique Canada pour le Programme d’évaluation de l’état des cultures (PEEC)HTML http://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb-bmdi/pub/document/5177_D1_T9_V1-eng.htm Application web du Programme d'évaluation de l'état des cultures (PEEC)HTML https://www35.statcan.gc.ca/CCAP/en/index Équivalence entre les bandes des images et les semaines juliennesXLS http://ftp.cartes.canada.ca/pub/statcan_statcan/modis/Bands_Weeks_MODIS_Semaines_Bandes.xlsx Fichiers compressés par année (répertoire de téléchargement)ZIP http://ftp.cartes.canada.ca/pub/statcan_statcan/modis/ AAC - Anomalies de l’IDVN maximal hebdomadaire meilleure qualitéHTML https://open.canada.ca/data/en/dataset/ea6b4be2-9826-47f3-a387-33ddf02592f4?platform=hootsuite

Le Programme d'évaluation de l'état des cultures (PEEC) est conçu et tenu à jour par la Section Télédétection et analyse géospatiale (TAG) de la Division de l'agriculture. Le PEEC regroupe les technologies de télédétection, des SIG et Internet dans le but d'offrir des renseignements fiables, objectifs et à jour sur l'état des cultures et des pâturages sous forme d'une application cartographique sur tout le territoire agricole canadien et le nord des États-Unis.

Depuis la saison de croissance de 2010, le PEEC a été amélioré par l'intégration des données du capteur "Spectroradiomètre imageur à résolution moyenne" (MODIS, à 250 mètres de résolution). Ce capteur saisit deux importantes bandes spectrales (le rouge et l'infrarouge) servant à l'observation de la végétation pour produire l'Indice de végétation par différence normalisée (IVDN). Les images composites originales de l’IVDN sur la condition des cultures sont fournies par Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (lien vers les données originales dans la section ressource) et des traitements supplémentaires, tels qu’un traitement pour retirer un maximum de nuages résiduels et une compilation statistique par régions géographiques, ont été appliqués par Statistique Canada. Le PEEC permet la visualisation des données MODIS depuis 2017 pour la plupart des semaines de croissance au Canada, soit entre les semaines juliennes 15 à 37.

Ce jeu de données donne accès à 21 années d’images MODIS en format GeoTIF et couvre le territoire agricole lors de la saison de croissance des grandes cultures.

Données et ressources

Renseignements géographiques

Élément spatial

Coordonnées

Adresse de courrier électronique: STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca

Dossiers similaires