Acid Sensitive Lakes, Oil Sands Region Acid-Sensitive Lakes Nine hundred and thirty-three lakes located in Saskatchewan, Alberta and the Northwest Territories were sampled to establish current acidification status. Of the 933 lakes, 244 (or 26%) are considered acid sensitive, almost always because of naturally low calcium and magnesium (or "base cation") concentrations. The most acid-sensitive lakes (i.e., those with extremely low base cation concentrations) are located on the Canadian Shield in both Alberta and Saskatchewan and east of the oils sands development area. Fifty-one of the 244 acid-sensitive lakes were sampled twice annually (spring and fall) to identify chemical changes through trend analyses. Results revealed that 55% of these lakes had concentrations of some metals in excess of Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment guidelines. Of the 291 samples taken in the 51 lakes, iron concentrations were greater than guidelines in 36% (105 samples), aluminum in 33% (97 samples), lead in 0.3% (1 sample) and copper in 0.3% (1 sample). The metals in these lakes occur naturally and are expected to be found in a wide range of concentrations given the geology and physiography of the Canadian Shield. It remains to establish the relationship between acid sensitivity, geology and high metal concentrations. 2014-05-22 2019-11-05 Environment and Climate Change Canada fred.norouzian@canada.ca Nature and Environmentoil sands; monitoring; atmospheric deposition; contaminant; acidification; metals; nutrients; major ions; acid sensitivity; water qualityWater - QualityAssess Toxicity; Manage and Monitor for Environmental Presence of Hazardous Substances and WasteMonitor / Assess Substance and Waste Levels in Air; Water; Soil; BiotaPrairie - Alberta (AB)Prairie - Saskatchewan (SK)Territories - Northwest Territories (NT)Oil sandsLakes Acid Sensitive Lakes - Level 1 and Level 2 Monitoring - Water Chemistry Data (English)CSV http://donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/acid-sensitive-lakes-oil-sands-region/?lang=en Acid Sensitive Lakes - Level 1 and Level 2 Monitoring - Water Chemistry Data (French)CSV http://donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/acid-sensitive-lakes-oil-sands-region/?lang=fr Acid-Sensitive Lakes -Topographic MapsPDF http://donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/acid-sensitive-lakes-oil-sands-region/Acid-sensitive Lakes Map Information Monitoring Level1-2-En-Fr.pdf Scientific Publication - Chemical characteristics and acid sensitivity of boreal headwater lakes in northwest SaskatchewanPDF http://www.science.uwaterloo.ca/~jjgibson/mypdfs/04_scott.pdf Scientific Publication - Site-specific estimates of water yield applied regional acid sensitivity surveys across western CanadaPDF https://www.researchgate.net/publication/228662455_Site-specific_estimates_of_water_yield_applied_in_regional_acid_sensitivity_surveys_across_western_Canada Scientific Publication - Chapter: Critical Loads and Dynamic Risk Assessments “Critical Load Assessments and Dynamic Model Applications for Lakes in North America”PDF http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1352231016303661 Scientific Publication - Recently surveyed lakes in northern Manitoba and Saskatchewan, Canada: characteristics and critical loads of acidityPDF http://www.science.uwaterloo.ca/~jjgibson/mypdfs/05_jeffries.pdf Acid Sensitive LakesESRI REST https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/OSM/MapServer/16 Acid Sensitive LakesESRI REST https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/OSM/MapServer/38 WMSWMS https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/services/OSM/MapServer/WMSServer?request=GetCapabilities&service=WMS&layers=29&legend_format=image/png&feature_info_type=text/html WMSWMS https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/services/OSM/MapServer/WMSServer?request=GetCapabilities&service=WMS&layers=7&legend_format=image/png&feature_info_type=text/html

Acid Sensitive Lakes, Oil Sands Region

Acid-Sensitive Lakes

Nine hundred and thirty-three lakes located in Saskatchewan, Alberta and the Northwest Territories were sampled to establish current acidification status. Of the 933 lakes, 244 (or 26%) are considered acid sensitive, almost always because of naturally low calcium and magnesium (or "base cation") concentrations. The most acid-sensitive lakes (i.e., those with extremely low base cation concentrations) are located on the Canadian Shield in both Alberta and Saskatchewan and east of the oils sands development area.

Fifty-one of the 244 acid-sensitive lakes were sampled twice annually (spring and fall) to identify chemical changes through trend analyses. Results revealed that 55% of these lakes had concentrations of some metals in excess of Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment guidelines. Of the 291 samples taken in the 51 lakes, iron concentrations were greater than guidelines in 36% (105 samples), aluminum in 33% (97 samples), lead in 0.3% (1 sample) and copper in 0.3% (1 sample). The metals in these lakes occur naturally and are expected to be found in a wide range of concentrations given the geology and physiography of the Canadian Shield. It remains to establish the relationship between acid sensitivity, geology and high metal concentrations.

View on Map

Resources

Resource Name Resource Type Format Language Links
Acid Sensitive Lakes - Level 1 and Level 2 Monitoring - Water Chemistry Data (English) Dataset CSV English Access
Acid Sensitive Lakes - Level 1 and Level 2 Monitoring - Water Chemistry Data (French) Dataset CSV French Access
Acid-Sensitive Lakes -Topographic Maps Guide PDF English
French
Access
Scientific Publication - Chemical characteristics and acid sensitivity of boreal headwater lakes in northwest Saskatchewan Guide PDF English Access
Scientific Publication - Site-specific estimates of water yield applied regional acid sensitivity surveys across western Canada Guide PDF English Access
Scientific Publication - Chapter: Critical Loads and Dynamic Risk Assessments “Critical Load Assessments and Dynamic Model Applications for Lakes in North America” Guide PDF English Access
Scientific Publication - Recently surveyed lakes in northern Manitoba and Saskatchewan, Canada: characteristics and critical loads of acidity Guide PDF English Access
Acid Sensitive Lakes Web Service ESRI REST English Access
Acid Sensitive Lakes Web Service ESRI REST French Access
WMS Web Service WMS English Access
WMS Web Service WMS French Access

Geographic Information

Spatial Feature

Contact Information

Delivery Point: 867 Lakeshore Road

City: Burlington

Administrative Area:

Postal Code: L7S 1A1

Country: Canada

Electronic Mail Address: fred.norouzian@canada.ca

Lacs sensibles aux acides, Région des sables bitumineux

Lacs sensibles aux acides, Région des sables bitumineux Lacs sensibles aux acides Neuf cent trente-trois lacs situés en Saskatchewan, en Alberta et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont été échantillonnés dans le but d’établir l’état d’acidification actuel. Des 933 lacs, 244 (ou 26 %) sont considérés comme sensibles aux acides, presque toujours en raison des faibles concentrations naturelles de calcium et de magnésium (ou « cation basique »). Les lacs les plus sensibles à l’acidité (c.-à-d. ceux qui présentent des concentrations en cations basiques extrêmement faibles) sont situés sur le Bouclier canadien en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, à l’est de la zone d’exploitation des sables bitumineux. Cinquante et un des 244 lacs sensibles aux acides ont été échantillonnés deux fois par année (au printemps et à l’automne) afin de déterminer les changements chimiques au moyen d’analyses des tendances. Les résultats ont montré que 55 % de ces lacs avaient des concentrations de certains métaux supérieures aux recommandations du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement. Sur les 291 échantillons prélevés dans les 51 lacs, les concentrations de fer étaient supérieures aux recommandations dans 36 % des cas (105 échantillons), celles de l’aluminium dans 33 % (97 échantillons), du plomb dans 0,3 % (1 échantillon) et du cuivre dans 0,3 % (1 échantillon). Dans ces lacs les métaux sont tous d’origine naturelle, et il est donc normal que leur concentration soit extrêmement diversifiée en raison de la géologie et de la physiographie du Bouclier canadien. La relation entre la sensibilité à l’acidité, la géologie et les fortes concentrations en métaux reste à établir. 2022-06-14 Environnement et Changement climatique Canada fred.norouzian@canada.ca Nature et environnementEau - qualitéÉvaluer la toxicité de la présence dans l'environnement des substances et des déchets dangereux; les gérer et les surveillerSurveiller et évaluer les niveaux des substances et des déchets dans l'air; l'eau; le sol; le biotePrairies - Alberta (AB)Prairies - Saskatchewan (SK)Territoires - Territoires du Nord-Ouest (NT)Sables bitumineuxLac Lac sensibles aux acides - surveillance de niveau 1 et niveau 2 - les données sur la chimie de l'eau (Anglais)CSV http://donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/acid-sensitive-lakes-oil-sands-region/?lang=en Lac sensibles aux acides - surveillance de niveau 1 et niveau 2 - les données sur la chimie de l'eau (Français)CSV http://donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/acid-sensitive-lakes-oil-sands-region/?lang=fr Lac sensibles aux acides - cartes topographiquesPDF http://donnees.ec.gc.ca/data/substances/monitor/acid-sensitive-lakes-oil-sands-region/Acid-sensitive Lakes Map Information Monitoring Level1-2-En-Fr.pdf Publication scientifique - « Chemical characteristics and acid sensitivity of boreal headwater lakes in northwest Saskatchewan »PDF http://www.science.uwaterloo.ca/~jjgibson/mypdfs/04_scott.pdf Publication scientifique - « Site-specific estimates of water yield applied regional acid sensitivity surveys across western Canada »PDF https://www.researchgate.net/publication/228662455_Site-specific_estimates_of_water_yield_applied_in_regional_acid_sensitivity_surveys_across_western_Canada Publication scientifique - Chapitre « Critical Load Assessments and Dynamic Model Applications for Lakes in North America », dans Critical Loads and Dynamic Risk Assessments.PDF http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1352231016303661 Publication scientifique - « Recently surveyed lakes in northern Manitoba and Saskatchewan, Canada: characteristics and critical loads of acidity »PDF http://www.science.uwaterloo.ca/~jjgibson/mypdfs/05_jeffries.pdf Lacs sensibles aux acidesESRI REST https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/OSM/MapServer/16 Lacs sensibles aux acidesESRI REST https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/rest/services/OSM/MapServer/38 Lacs sensibles aux acides, Région des sables bitumineuxWMS https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/services/OSM/MapServer/WMSServer?request=GetCapabilities&service=WMS&layers=29&legend_format=image/png&feature_info_type=text/html Lacs sensibles aux acides, Région des sables bitumineuxWMS https://maps-cartes.ec.gc.ca/arcgis/services/OSM/MapServer/WMSServer?request=GetCapabilities&service=WMS&layers=7&legend_format=image/png&feature_info_type=text/html

Lacs sensibles aux acides

Neuf cent trente-trois lacs situés en Saskatchewan, en Alberta et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont été échantillonnés dans le but d’établir l’état d’acidification actuel. Des 933 lacs, 244 (ou 26 %) sont considérés comme sensibles aux acides, presque toujours en raison des faibles concentrations naturelles de calcium et de magnésium (ou « cation basique »). Les lacs les plus sensibles à l’acidité (c.-à-d. ceux qui présentent des concentrations en cations basiques extrêmement faibles) sont situés sur le Bouclier canadien en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, à l’est de la zone d’exploitation des sables bitumineux.

Cinquante et un des 244 lacs sensibles aux acides ont été échantillonnés deux fois par année (au printemps et à l’automne) afin de déterminer les changements chimiques au moyen d’analyses des tendances. Les résultats ont montré que 55 % de ces lacs avaient des concentrations de certains métaux supérieures aux recommandations du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement. Sur les 291 échantillons prélevés dans les 51 lacs, les concentrations de fer étaient supérieures aux recommandations dans 36 % des cas (105 échantillons), celles de l’aluminium dans 33 % (97 échantillons), du plomb dans 0,3 % (1 échantillon) et du cuivre dans 0,3 % (1 échantillon). Dans ces lacs les métaux sont tous d’origine naturelle, et il est donc normal que leur concentration soit extrêmement diversifiée en raison de la géologie et de la physiographie du Bouclier canadien. La relation entre la sensibilité à l’acidité, la géologie et les fortes concentrations en métaux reste à établir.

Afficher la carte

Données et ressources

Renseignements géographiques

Élément spatial

Coordonnées

Adresse de courrier électronique: fred.norouzian@canada.ca

Dossiers similaires